top of page
  • Writer's pictureMikeela Woods

Can I Really Innovate?

Updated: Jul 20, 2023


The video, Blended learning and the future of education: Monique Markoff at TEDxIthacaCollege, detailed blended learning, while defining blended learning as students learning from the computer (or technology tool) approximately 25 percent of the day. While I have witnessed the benefits of blended learning, and consider myself flexible enough to try new things, I find the willingness and flexibility of the school depends on certain factors within the given school. Within my district and position I go to several different schools throughout the week. I find the schools with A or B ratings are more flexible in trying various learning approaches. However, those school with a rating lower than a B have strict parameters they have to follow around instruction and how it is presented. Fortunately, those parameters do include what some may reference as blended learning. The benefits described of blended learning, such as students receiving immediate feedback and becoming independent learners are certainly possible if teachers have an understanding of blended learning implementation. I view training and preparation for teachers as essential.


Furthermore, I believe blended learning and classroom management go hand in hand. I have witnessed students in what supposed to be a blended learning setting not using the computer appropriately. If teachers are helping other students or attending to another tasks it becomes difficult to monitor the actions of all students. Just as teachers need training on certain computer programs or skills, some teachers may also require support in how to manage a blended learning environment. Students do need opportunities to for authentic learning and benefit from skills that require them to take charge of their own learning. I have been able to create this environment when I was teaching. Differentiated instruction allowed students to deepen and showcase their understanding of a topic or concept through their own selection. For some students this would include technology, however, students were empowered through choice which increased engagement and ownership.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page