top of page
  • Writer's pictureMikeela Woods

Contributions to Learning Communities (5313 and 5303)


Reflection

EDLD 5313 provided me with an in-depth understanding of creating a significant learning environment and the importance of establishing such an environment. In EDLD 5302 I had the opportunity to learn about developing a growth mindset. 5313 expanded upon developing a growth mindset and why a growth mindset is important to a significant learning environment. 5313 allowed me to reflect further upon my growth mindset, and how it has evolved, as well as the environment I create for learners. Most importantly I gained tools to guide me by ensuring I am offering a significant learning environment for students. The three-column table and understanding by design template presented in 5313 both serve as documents for facilitators to create learning opportunities intentionally, fostering a significant learning environment.

I was also enrolled in EDLD 5303 this term. I had previously developed an ePortfolio in EDLD 5302 but taking 5303 allowed me the time to focus on the design of my ePortfolio and how to better develop it to address my specific audience. I think coupling EDLD 5313 with 5303 was especially beneficial because 5313 required numerous assignments being added to the ePortfolio, and 5303 required me to ensure my ePortfolio contained certain elements with a focus on advancing the functionality.

What I plan to do differently in the future is provide my collaboration group with resources to address some of their needs or concerns beyond resources provided in the course. I had done this previously in another course with a collaboration group but found I did not have as much time this term with the workload of two courses. However, I did have a goal of providing feedback expanding beyond my collaboration group. In 5303 I used the discussion board to provide members outside of my collaboration group feedback on their ePortfolios.

Collaboration Group and Revisions

My core collaboration group in 5313 included myself, Maria Lopez, Valerie Regalado, Lakesha Smith and Alyssa Malveaux. We had a GroupMe account that Maria had previously set up from a previous course for group collaboration. We utilized the forum to provide feedforward on assignments, ask clarifying questions, and share ideas. Having a support system throughout the course has been nice.

My core collaboration group in 5303 included myself, Ashley Kennedy, Samantha Jimenez, Hillary Turnage, Lindsay Krueger, and Amanda Mask. I reached out to Samantha through the Student Lounge and we merged with the other ladies who had formed a group. We began to communicate through email and a group text was formed. Next Ashley invited me to our first Zoom meeting. We established a standing time of 10:00am on Friday. Individuals tried to attend as many meetings as possible, but also had the option of asking and collaborating through a virtual document and via text message. What was most helpful was during a meeting we took the time to share our ePortfolios in real time, with each group member offering feedback. I was excited to have the opportunity to offer insight and encouragement on assignments group members were completing in 5305 since I had already taken this course. Once again, having a team to offer input and feedforward was extremely helpful.

Course assignments and Deadlines

I was able to complete all the course readings, videos, and reviews of resources. Although I was unable to attend live recording, I watched the recorded class meeting. This was helpful being that I was able to listen to the information, pause when necessary, and jot down important notes. Moving forward, I am hopeful my schedule allows me to attend some of the live recordings.

Supporting Contributions

Leadership for Core Group

All group members in both courses contributed to the group. In 5313 various group members made suggestions regarding providing feedforward on assignments. We all asked questions and provided responses to questions to one another. I think all group members also did a good job encouraging one another. In 5303 all group members were very active in offering suggestions, providing feedforward, and answering questions. No one in any group was overbearing and group members in both groups provided valuable input.

Contributions to My Learning and Colleagues Learning

I participated in course assignments and various discussion forums. I made sure to post to all discussions in a timely manner to allow peers the opportunity to respond. My posts contributed to the learning of my peers by providing additional insight or an alternative perspective based on reading or professional experiences.

Self-Assessment Score 95

19 views0 comments

ความคิดเห็น


bottom of page