top of page
  • Writer's pictureMikeela Woods

No More Worldwinds!


I, like I’m sure many others, have had excellent ideas that have not manifested into anything. Why? Simply put, there was no follow up or actions behind the ideas. The Video The 4 Disciplines of Execution shared a good idea without actions is worthless (Production, 2017). I could not agree more. And like mentioned in the video, other things get in the way of me executing goals or ideas. I know realize that I have been caught up in world winds that have hindered my professional and personal progress. Realizing that world winds do occur in inhibit progress has caused me to focus on how to avoid these other “issues” that will arise while implementing my innovation plan.

One essential aspect of not getting caught up in the world wind is focusing on my WIG (Production, 2017). Intentionally focusing on what is important, and what will have the biggest impact on the goals of my innovation plan should be at the forefront of planning daily and weekly activities. Of course, issues will arise, however; I must ensure I am not ignoring those things that are of the most importance in achieving goals. They must remain a priority regardless of the world wind.

The discussion on lead behaviors and lag time presented by Production (2017) was invaluable. This serves as another reminder to plan and measure day to day activities and actions that will positively impact the overall goal. It’s a focus on those behaviors that will eventually result in progress. There may be a lag as change and results often take time. However, if I focus on those lead behaviors and accurately measure those actions, results will follow.

Keeping a scoreboard and holding one another accountable go hand in hand in my opinion. Where individuals stand should not be a surprise. No one should have to guess how they are progressing towards a certain goal. Within my innovation plan I am considering including checklist, charts, and other tangible pictorial models where individuals will understand their proficiency in various areas that will positively impact the programs WIG, while also setting individual professional goals in accountability meetings based on the scoreboard. I am confident the four disciplines of execution will assist me with focusing on my WIG and the appropriate measures to track individual and overall progress.


Reference

Production Game (2017). THE 4 DISCIPLINES OF EXECUTION by C. McChesney, S. Covey, and J. Huling [YouTube Video]. In YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2HKn49r3-Ko

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page