top of page
  • Writer's pictureMikeela Woods

Self-Assessment 5302

Updated: Jul 20, 2023


Key Contributions

Reflection

This course provided me with an in-depth understanding of growth mindset. Previously I had not studied the concept of growth mindset. At first glace I thought, “Of course I have a growth mindset.” I consider myself to be a lifetime learner and am always seeking new information. Upon a more detailed review I quickly realized I have areas that require development to have a growth mindset. The growth mindset plan forced me to deeply reflect upon my thoughts and practices of how I would with my colleagues and even how I view the work and learning of my children.

What I plan to do differently is expand a bit beyond my collaboration group. I focused largely on interacting in discussion boards with my core group members. While this has allowed me to develop and grow with my core group members, it would also be beneficial to expand my interactions to provide an opportunity to learn from other peers within my courses.

Collaboration Group and Revisions

My core collaboration group included myself, Maria Lopez, Valerie Regalado, and Alyssa Malveaux. We begin to connect via text and email initially, then Maria set up a GroupMe account for group collaboration. Having a support system throughout the course has been nice. We were able to offer one another feedforward on our Growth Mindset Plans and Learning Manifestos. I received excellent feedforward on my Growth Mindset Plan, such as making sure I included my reference page which I had completely forgotten. I also received great feedforward with my Learning Manifesto. Technical advice was received also regarding making sure I updated the mobile version of my ePortfolio, which I had previously not considered.

Course assignments and Deadlines

I was able to complete all of the course readings, videos, and review of resources. Although I was unable to attend live records, I watched every single record class meeting. This was helpful being that I was able to listen to the information, pause when necessary, and jot down important notes. Moving forward, I am hopeful my schedule allows me to attend some of the live recordings.

Supporting Contributions

Leadership for Core Group

All of my group members contributed to the group. We were a group of four, which allowed us to communicate easily and freely with one another, not requiring a rigid structure. I suggested that we all read and give feedforward to one another on our Learning Manifestos. We also provide one another with feedforward on our Growth Mindset Plans. While checking for content I also tried to assist with APA formatting for my group members since I have had some previous experience with writing using APA.

Contributions to My Learning and Colleagues Learning

I participate in every course assignment in various discussion forums. I made sure to post to all discussions in a timely manner to allow peers the opportunity to respond. My posted contributed to the learning of my peers, and were at times based off of situations I encountered during my sixteen years in education. I also incorporated additional research and sources into discussions to also provide scholarly insight in conjunction with my personal experiences in education.

Self-Assessment Score 96

13 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page