top of page
  • Writer's pictureMikeela Woods

Urgency for Change

Updated: Jul 20, 2023


In education teachers, staff members, and administrators are often overwhelmed. There never seems to be enough time in the day. Specifically, in my position I look at data as a guide to driving educational decisions for students. However, sometimes data does not tell an entire story or present an accurate picture. I may see a student struggling academically on paper, but may be unaware that the student is unable to focus on education due to having to care for younger siblings. Or perhaps the student that has numerous discipline referrals, but it is unknown the student experienced losing a parent due to violence. The daily stress and busyness of the day often leads to us simply focusing on facts. But, once we take time to know the students and understand their stories, then when can have a lasting and meaningful impact. The Power of Words video also depicts something viewed and said (I am blind) to something more pleasant (It’s a beautiful day and I can see it) changing the manner in which individuals respond to the man asking for assistance. This reminded me of the proposal I created for my innovation plan. I was intentional in referring to the area I wanted to address as an opportunity opposed to a problem.


I think it is important to target both the heads and the hearts. It is important to for individuals to understand the facts, but connect on a human level. The Behavioral ScienceGuys video presented individuals with facts, that they probably already knew, regarding smoking. However, it wasn’t until a human or heartfelt aspect was added to the equation that responses of smokers changed. Videos and other forms of media can create a sense of urgency while making the facts clear while also adding in heartwarming aspects on the topic.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page