top of page
  • Writer's pictureMikeela Woods

Who Owns the ePortfolio?

Updated: Jul 20, 2023


The term ownership may be relative to the specific individual. For example, consider home ownership. Many people purchase homes through the use of lender financing, and for all intentional purposes are considered homeowners. They are allowed to modify the property, sell the property, are required to pay taxes on the property, and are listed on documentation as the property owner. However, there are certain boundaries in place by the lender. For example, the property owner is required to have insurance on the home and if the owner defaults on the mortgage payment the property can be taken from them. But they are still property owners, right? In my eyesight they are homeowners. Of course, there are set boundaries, but they are responsible for the home and all things related to the home.


I feel the same way with my ePortfolio. There are specific requirements for the portfolio, and it must contain certain elements, but ultimately, I am responsible for the contents of the ePortolio. Initially when I created my ePortfolio each artifact opened in a new window. For example, as a requirement I revised my ePortfolio so artifacts open in the same tab of the original page. I also added a search bar to my header. Although not a requirement, when collaborating and sharing with group members I found the search bar offered ease for viewers to navigate the ePortfolio. Initially did not have a dropdown menu for headers, which is something I recently incorporated. I am sure I will continue to not only add content, but revise design choice and layout within the ePortfolio, When I complete the ADL program, I plan to continue to utilize the ePortfolio as I evolve. Thus, although I am evaluated on the ePortfolio I still consider myself the owner of the document. I am taking ownership of learning and have been provided with the autonomy to display my learning and understanding in a manner that suits my needs.

4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page