top of page
  • Writer's pictureMikeela Woods

The Best is Yet to Come!


In March 2020 the way of learning for students and educators quickly changed. COVID-19 forced schools to seek innovative ways to provide instruction to students and training to staff. Many school districts lacked the technological resources and framework to deliver instruction, which required swift action. The lack of preparation for schools to meet the distance learning needs of students was evident, as I reflected my need to advance my digital learning was also evident. The Applied Digital Learning Program at first glance appeared to provide me with the opportunity to incorporate digital tools into learning. In my first course, Disruptive Innovation, I started off with developing an innovation plan. The activities associated with formulating the innovation plan caused me to focus on a need to address through my innovation proposal, research on how to address the need through a literature review, an overview of the plan in an implementation outline, and future readings to support my learning through an annotated bibliography. Throughout the course it was stressed to focus on student learning and then the technological tools to best support the learning. A Call to Action video was also created to highlight my innovation plan. To my pleasant surprise I began to ponder on the way learners are taught while increasing technological awareness.


My next course, Concepts of Educational Technology, continued to advance my learning. This course introduced me to growth mindset and how a growth mindset supports learning. I explored my own growth mindset and identified areas to address. I also developed a Growth Mindset Plan for program participants as part of my innovation plan, with specific attention given to “yet”. Next, through the development of my Learning Manifesto I was able to deeply reflect upon my learning beliefs, and how to address learning for participants in my innovation plan. The Concepts of Educational Technology course continued to expand my knowledge of authentic learning for students, using technology as a tool, while also building my ePortfolio to share activities and insights into my learning and innovation plan.


As I continue to embark on what I initially thought was simply a journey to advance my technology skills, I am excited to learn more about learning and preparing for the future. Fostering a significant learning environment will assist in my facilitation of learning experiences that allow students to address what is unknown and embrace the concept of yet. Course resources, instructors, and activities have greatly supported my learning. However, a hidden gem has been the opportunity to communicate with my learning communities. The ability to ask questions, collaborate, seek feedforward from peers, and encourage one another has assisted in my personal learning and modeled collaboration for my innovation plan. After just four courses my vision as reflected in my ePortfolio is becoming clearer, and I believe the best is yet to come!

30 views1 comment

1 Comment


akennedy16
Jul 23, 2023

Thank you so much for providing insight on the courses yet to come for me, your perspective is very valuable.

Like
bottom of page